Screengrab of virtual ceremony of National Teachers’ Award 2020

The introduction of “Bell Free Schools”, “Children’s Parliament”, gender awareness exercises and “Global Citizenship Curriculum” are among the innovative teaching-learning practices of 47 teachers who received the National Teachers Award this year.

Mahipalsinh Sajjansinh Jetavat, teacher at Shree Tidana Elementary School in Gujarat, introduced the concept of a “bell-free school”.

He said the initiative encouraged children to attend classes regularly.

“I have experimented with innovative practices for a child-centered school like a children’s parliament and created Gyankutir where children record their own stories, use ICT technology, promote girls’ education through local sponsors, and project-based stress-free education. These efforts have resulted in excellent enrollment results, ”said Jetavat.

Jyoti Arora, the director of Mount Abu Public School in Delhi, has introduced a “Global Citizenship Curriculum” in schools to raise awareness among children of the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals.

Prakashchandra Narbheram Suthar, the director of Kanjeli Elementary School, used his carpentry skills to create interesting kits, models and experiments at low cost for learning scientific concepts.

Sanjay Kumar Jain, a teacher in Madhya Pradesh, has introduced various teaching-learning practices using school floors, walls and open spaces as tools for joyful learning.

Read more: National Teachers’ Award 2020: List of all 47 award winners across India

“I used the surrounding rocks and boulders as study materials. Academic performance in the school has improved, with a clear focus on learning outcomes while the school experience is a pleasant one for students, ”said Jain.

Lomas Dhungel, a teacher from Sikkim, has adopted novel methods of teaching geometry, algebra, and mathematical concepts through poetry, storytelling, and art.

“He integrated the understanding of nature through stability and symmetry into his math lessons. Its activities are extremely kid-friendly and have engaged children whose math skills have improved, ”said his award ceremony.

The other winners are Manoj Kumar Lakhra (Haryana), Nardev Singh (Himachal Pradesh), Rajinder Kumar (Punjab), Surender Singh (Delhi), Kewalanand Kandpal (Uttarakhand), Geeta Kumari (Rajasthan), Sindhu Prabhu Dessai (Goa) and Mohammad Among others Shahid Ansari (Madhya Pradesh), Akhileshwar Pathak (Bihar) and Basant Kumar Sahu (Odisha).

The Ministry of Education invited teachers to self-nominate for the awards through an online portal.

The first level review was conducted by the District Selection Committee (DSC) under the direction of the District Education Officer. On the basis of prescribed selection criteria, DSC shortlisted three names and forwarded them to the state selection committee via an online portal.

This year, the candidates appeared in front of the jury through a video conference and gave presentations. The prizes were presented in a virtual award ceremony by President Ram Nath Kovind.


Postgraduate Diploma Course in Transmission and Distribution System @ National Power Training Institute

Previous article

CHSE Odisha Plus Two (+2) art results 2020 @ – Live updates

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *